## Avon Athletic Association

**Minutes** of the 2014 Annual General Meeting of the Avon Athletic Association, held on Monday March 24th 2014, in Room 2B066, Block B, UWE Frenchay Campus, Bristol. The meeting started at about 8.20pm; the Abbreviated Committee Meeting scheduled to follow the AGM was held first, as a quorum for a General Meeting had not been gathered by 7.30pm.

**Those Present**: John Deaton (Secretary), Mike Down (Bristol& West AC), Rachael Fisher (Acting Chairperson, North Somerset AC), Pam Gooding (Life Member), Ray Gooding (Officials Secretary), Neil Miller (Westbury H. / SW Council), Hilary Nash (Treasurer / Bristol & West AC), Lesley Nunn (Avon Schools AA), Stuart Nunn (Yate & District AC), Ben Redwood (T&F Coordinator / Yate & District AC), John Robbins (President), Gareth Thomas (Thornbury RC), Mike Willcox (GWR).

**Apologies**: Dave Coales (Team Bath AC), Ian Macintosh (Trustee), Jim Murphy (Westbury H./Welfare), Gordon Robbins (Road Running Coordinator), Mike Strange (Life Member)

**Minutes of Previous AGM** (March 18th 2013): Lesley Nunn commented that two items discussed under "Any Other Business" had not been recorded. John Deaton stated that both items had been recorded and dealt with at subsequent Committee Meetings, and that the items in question could not have been dealt with at an AGM under "Any Other Business" as the constitutionally required notice had not been given. In retrospect, it had been a misjudgement to include "Any Other Business" as an AGM item without the qualification that due notice was required.

**Statement by Vice-Chairperson:** Rachael Fisher read out a statement on her view of the situation of the Association over the past 12 months (copies available on request).

Secretary's Report: Circulated in advance (copies available on request).

**Treasurer's Report**: Hilary Nash's final version of the Annual Accounts had been circulated prior to the meeting (copies available on request). The Cross-Country costs referred to in the report were from the 2012 event. There were two affiliation fees to be chased up: there was no recommendation for any alteration in affiliation fees.

## **Election of Officers**:

President:	John Robbins	Re-elected unanimously
Chairperson:	No nomination	
Vice-Chairperson :	Rachael Fisher	Re-elected unanimously
Secretary:	John Deaton	Re-elected unanimously
Treasurer:	Hilary Nash	Re-elected unanimously

## Election of other Secretaries / Coordinators:

Officials Secretary	Ray Gooding	Re-elected unanimously	
Cross-Country Coordinator	No nomination		
Road Running Coordinator	No nomination		
Track and Field Coordinator	Ben Redwood would b	e unavailable to organise the 2014	
Avon/WofE Championships but hoped to be available for 2015.			
Sportshall Coordinator	Dave Turner	Re-elected unanimously	
Welfare Officer	James Murphy	Re-elected unanimously	
Webmaster	John Deaton	Re-elected unanimously	

## **Election of Team Managers:**

Cross-Country (Senior and U/20) Mike Down was stepping down from Men's Team Management after some 30 years: the Association expressed its gratitude for his work. Keith Brackstone was prepared to manage the Senior and Under-20 Women's teams: a volunteer would be sought for the Senior and Under-20 Men's post.

Track and Field (Senior and U/20)	Ken Holmes	Re-elected unanimously
Track and Field (Younger age gps.)	Dean Garrett	Re-elected unanimously
Cross-Country (other age groups)	Neil Miller / Steve Parsons would discuss this role	
Road Running:	Dave Coales	Re-elected unanimously

Election of Trustee: Gordon Robbins was re-elected unanimously for a three-year term.

Election of Independent Examiner: Barry Smart was appointed to this post.

Meeting Closed at about 9.20pm.