Avon Athletic Association

Minutes of the 2016 Annual General Meeting of the Avon Athletic Association, held on Monday April 4th 2016, in Room 2B065, Block B, UWE Frenchay Campus, Bristol, starting at 9.00pm approx.

Those Present: John Deaton (Secretary), Rachael Fisher (Vice-Chairperson, North Somerset AC), Pam Gooding (President), Ray Gooding (Officials Secretary), Neil Miller (Westbury Harriers), Hilary Nash (Treasurer / Bristol & West AC), John Robbins (Chairperson), Jim Strudwick (Avon Schools AA), Mike Willcox (GWR).

Apologies: Ian Macintosh (Trustee), James Murphy (Welfare / Westbury Harriers), Mike Strange (Life Member).

NOTE: At the scheduled start time of the AGM, there was not a sufficient quorum for a General Meeting: the Chairperson (John Robbins) proposed, and those present agreed, that the planned Abbreviated Committee Meeting should be held first. By the end of the Committee meeting, there was still no quorum, so John Robbins decided that those present should proceed with the business on the AGM Agenda, with the decisions taken to be ratified at the next General Meeting of the Association.

Minutes of Previous AGM (March 23rd 2015): accepted.

Matters Arising: Constitutional proposals for disposal of funds in case of dissolution of the Association: continuing minute.

Secretary's Report: Circulated in advance (copies available on request). John Deaton emphasised the need for member clubs to keep in touch with developments in the sport beyond Avon.

John Robbins proposed a vote of thanks to the Secretary for his work.

Treasurer's Report: Hilary Nash presented his final version of the Annual Accounts (minor typo corrections from the draft version presented at the January 2016 Committee Meeting: copies available on request). The Accounts recorded a deficit of almost £1,700, but this included the purchase of the Association tent, a sizeable grant to the expenses of the Avon Schools Sportshall team for their UK Championships, and the purchase of T&F Championships medals.

John Robbins proposed a vote of thanks to the Treasurer for his work

Election of Officers: In the absence of any other nominations, the following were re-elected en-bloc:

President: Pam Gooding
Chairperson: John Robbins
Vice-Chairperson: Rachael Fisher
Secretary: John Deaton
Treasurer: Hilary Nash

Election of other Secretaries / Coordinators:

Officials Secretary (Track and Field)	Ray Gooding	Re-elected unanimously
Officials Secretary (Endurance)	Ray Gooding	Re-elected unanimously
Cross-Country Coordinator	No nomination	
Road Running Coordinator	No nomination	

Track and Field Coordinator No nomination. The arrangements for the 2016 T&F

Championships are being handled by a

group of activists.

Sportshall Coordinator	Dave Turner	Re-elected unanimously
Welfare Officer	James Murphy	Re-elected unanimously
Webmaster	John Deaton	Re-elected unanimously
Coaching Coordinator	Jim Strudwick	Re-elected unanimously

Election of Team Managers:

Cross-Country (Seniors) Keith Brackstone (Women) and Chris Elson (Men), subject to

acceptance.

Cross-Country (other age groups)

Track and Field (Senior and U/20)

Track and Field (Younger age gps.)

Neil Miller / Steve Parsons (subject to acceptance)

Ken Holmes (subject to acceptance)

Dean Garrett (subject to acceptance)

Road Running: No nominations

Election of Trustee: Ray Gooding was re-elected unanimously for a three-year term.

Election of Independent Examiner: Sue Marchant was re-appointed to this post (subject to acceptance).

Any Other Business for which the required notice has been given: None.

Meeting Closed at about 9.20pm.