Avon Athletic Association

Minutes of the 2018 Annual General Meeting of the Avon Athletic Association, held on Monday March 26th 2018, in Room 2B066, Block B, UWE Frenchay Campus, Bristol, starting at 7.30pm.

Those Present: Martin Bates (North Somerset AC), Roger Brocklesby (Bristol & West AC), John Deaton (Secretary), Martin Fisher (North Somerset AC), Pam Gooding (President), Ray Gooding (Officials Secretary), Pat Jefferies (Life Member / Yate & District AC), Hilary Nash (Treasurer / Bristol & West AC), Arthur Renshaw (Thornbury RC), John Robbins (Chairperson), Mike Strange (Bristol & West AC / Life Member), Jim Strudwick (Avon Schools AA), Matt Viner (Yate & District AC).

Apologies: Ian Macintosh (Trustee), James Murphy (Welfare / Westbury Harriers), Neil Miller (Westbury Harriers)

Minutes of Previous AGM (April 3rd 2017): accepted.

Matters Arising: Quorum situation: the Secretary had circulated the Avon AA e-mail circulation list regarding the Chairperson's decision, and had received no objections.

Secretary's Report: Circulated in advance (copies available on request). John Robbins thanked John Deaton for his work, particularly in leading the Avon & Somerset team organisation for the UK CAU Cross-Country Championships.

Treasurer's Report: Hilary Nash presented his final version of the Annual Accounts. (copies available on request). The accounts showed losses for the past two years, but John Robbins reminded the meeting that the Association had given substantial grants to the Avon Schools and Avon Schools Sportshall operations. John Robbins proposed a vote of thanks to the Treasurer for his work

Election of Officers: The following were re-elected:

President: Pam Gooding
Chairperson: John Robbins
Vice-Chairperson: (no nomination)
Secretary: John Deaton
Treasurer: Hilary Nash

Election of other Secretaries / Coordinators:

Officials Secretary (Track and Field) Ray Gooding Re-elected
Officials Secretary (Endurance) Ray Gooding Re-elected

Cross-Country Coordinator John Deaton

Proposed by John Robbins, seconded by Hilary Nash Elected unopposed

Road Running Coordinator No nomination
Track and Field Coordinator No nomination

Sportshall Coordinator Dave Turner Re-elected subject to consent Welfare Officer James Murphy Re-elected subject to consent

Webmaster John Deaton Re-elected Coaching Coordinator Jim Strudwick Re-elected

(continued)

Election of Team Managers:

Cross-Country (Seniors) Keith Brackstone (Women) and Chris Elson (Men), subject to

acceptance.

Cross-Country (other age groups)

Neil Miller / Steve Parsons (subject to acceptance)

Track and Field (Senior and U/20)

Ken Holmes re-elected subject to acceptance

Track and Field (Younger age gps.) Will be appointed as necessary

Road Running: No nominations

Election of Trustee: Ian Macintosh was due for re-election, but had decided to stand down. Mike Strange (the former Secretary of the Association) was nominated by John Robbins and seconded by Ray Gooding to succeed Ian as Trustee, and was elected unanimously.

Election of Independent Examiner: Matt Viner would ask Charlotte Viner if she would be willing to take on the post.

Proposed new Constitution The proposed new Constitution had been submitted for discussion in phases over the past twelve months, and when the final draft version was submitted to the circulation list, no further modifications were proposed.

The Officers submitted an enhanced version of Section 8 of the Constitution, which appeared as Appendix A of the 2018 AGM Agenda. The meeting agreed to accept the amended version of Section 8, and the amended version of the proposed Constitution was agreed unanimously (proposed: John Robbins; seconded Jim Strudwick).

Any Other Business for which the required notice has been given: None.

John Robbins expressed his particular thanks to John Deaton, Hilary Nash and Ray and Pam Gooding for their work over the past year, to Ian Macintosh for his work over many years, and to Mike Strange for taking on the post of Trustee.

Meeting Closed at about 8.10pm.