## **Avon Athletic Association**

**Minutes** of the 2019 Annual General Meeting of the Avon Athletic Association, held on Monday March 25th 2019, in Room 3B044, Block B, UWE Frenchay Campus, Bristol, starting at 7.30pm.

**Those Present**: Martin Bates (North Somerset AC), Roger Brocklesby (Bristol & West AC), John Deaton (Secretary), Pam Gooding (President), Ray Gooding (Officials Secretary), Penny Mannings (North Somerset AC), Arthur Renshaw (Thornbury RC), John Robbins (Chairperson), Mike Willcox (GWR)

**Apologies**: Mike Down (Bristol & West AC / Life Member), Ian Macintosh (Trustee), James Murphy (Welfare / Westbury Harriers), Neil Miller (Westbury Harriers), Hilary Nash (Treasurer / Bristol & West AC), Lesley Nunn (Life Member), Stuart Nunn (Yate & District AC), Mike Strange (Bristol & West AC / Life Member), Jim Strudwick (Avon Schools AA),

Minutes of Previous AGM (March 26th 2018): accepted.

**Chairperson's Remarks:** the past Avon AA year has been a bit of an odd one, with an element of instability in one context not helping. John Robbins expressed his thanks to John Deaton, Hilary Nash and Pam Gooding for their work as Officers. John Robbins felt that the Avon AA was being actively supported by too few of our member clubs, and expressed concern about the shortage of active officials, particularly on Endurance events.

There was plenty of running activity in the county, but there seemed to be a shortage of progression from the informal running sector into the more competitive aspect of the sport.

Secretary's Report (distributed in advance; copies available on request): Accepted

**Treasurer's Report:** (distributed in advance; copies available on request): Hilary Nash was unable to be present at the meeting. The Secretary had requested that anyone wanting to raise queries about the Accounts to be raised at the meeting on the Accounts should e-mail these to Hilary in advance, copied to the Secretary: no such queries were received. Report accepted.

**Election of Officers**: The following were re-elected unopposed:

President: Pam Gooding (proposed John Robbins, seconded Penny Mannings)
Chairperson: John Robbins (proposed Mike Willcox, seconded Martin Bates)
Secretary: John Deaton (proposed Ray Gooding, seconded John Robbins)
Treasurer: Hilary Nash (proposed Martin Bates, seconded Pam Gooding)

## **Election of other Secretaries / Coordinators:**

Officials Secretary (Track and Field) Ray Gooding Re-elected Officials Secretary (Endurance) Ray Gooding Re-elected Cross-Country Coordinator John Deaton Re-elected

Road Running Coordinator No nomination
Track and Field Coordinator No nomination

Sportshall Coordinator Dave Turner Re-elected subject to consent Welfare Officer James Murphy (is willing to be re-elected)

Webmaster John Deaton Re-elected

Coaching Coordinator Jim Strudwick Re-elected subject to consent.

Roger Brocklesby asked for clarification of the status of the Avon Schools Sportshall organisation, particularly if there should be any future insurance or welfare issues.

**Election of Trustee:** Ray Gooding was due for re-election, and was happy to continue in the role (proposed Mike Willcox, seconded Penny Mannings).

**Election of Independent Examiner:** No nomination: Hilary Nash to be asked to continue the search for a volunteer.

**Motion from John Robbins:** "That John Deaton and Pam Gooding are elected as Life Vice-Presidents of the Association". Seconded by Mike Willcox: Carried.

**Motion from John Robbins:** "That Keith Brackstone, Cy Knibb and Mike Willcox are appointed as Honorary Life Members of the Association". Seconded by Roger Brocklesby; Carried.

Meeting Closed at about 8.20pm.