Avon Athletic Association

Minutes [UNRATIFIED] of the 2022 Annual General Meeting of the Avon Athletic Association, held on Monday March 14th, by Zoom, starting at 7.00pm.

Those Present: Debbie Brooks, John Cox (GWR), John Deaton (General Secretary), Pam Gooding (President), Ray Gooding (Officials Secretary), Andrea Garcia-Lock (SGS College), Penny Mannings (North Somerset AC), James Murphy (Welfare / Westbury Harriers), Hilary Nash (Treasurer / Bristol & West AC), Arthur Renshaw (Thornbury RC), John Robbins (Chairperson), Jim Strudwick (Avon Schools AA), Mark Thomas (Team Bath AC).

Apologies: Martin Bates (North Somerset AC), Kelly Dicks (GWR), Ian Macintosh (Life Member), Neil Miller (Westbury Harriers), Mike Strange (Bristol & West AC / Life Member).

Minutes of Previous AGM (March 8th 2021): accepted.

Matters Arising: Maria Townsend had agreed to act as the Independent Examiner of the Accounts, and had approved the backlog of accounts up to the end of 2020.

Chairperson's Remarks: (distributed in advance; full version available on request):

John Robbins stressed that the long-term continuance of the Association would depend on the involvement of the member clubs, including in filling the vacant or soon-to-be-vacant posts. He notified the meeting that he would not be accepting nomination as Chairperson beyond the 2023 AGM.

The Chair expressed his thanks to his fellow-activists, particularly to General Secretary John Deaton, for their work.

Secretary's Report: (distributed in advance): Accepted. John presented a supplement to his report, covering the 2022 UK CAU Inter-Counties Cross-Country Championships (available on request).

Treasurer's Report for 2021: (distributed in advance; copies available on request): Income had included a generous donation from a retired athlete, and a grant of £500 from EA towards the T&F Championships.

Maria Townsend was prepared to examine these accounts once she was fully back in action.

Election of Officers:

The holders of the following posts were elected unopposed:

President: Pam Gooding
Chairperson: John Robbins
Secretary: John Deaton
Treasurer: Hilary Nash

Officials Secretary (Track and Field)
Officials Secretary (Endurance)
Cross-Country Coordinator
Road Running Coordinator
Track and Field Coordinator
Sportshall Coordinator

No nomination
No nomination
Dave Turner

Welfare Officer James Murphy
Webmaster John Deaton
Coaching Coordinator Jim Strudwick

Re-elected subject to consent

Proposed: John Robbins: Seconded Jim Murphy.

Election of Trustees: Ray Gooding was re-elected as a Trustee until the 2025 AGM (Proposed: John Robbins; Seconded: Jim Strudwick).

Election of Independent Examiner: Maria Townsend: Proposed Hilary Nash; Seconded: John Deaton. Appointed.

Meeting Closed at about 7.25pm, with thanks to John Cox for acting as Zoom Host.