Avon Athletic Association

Minutes [UNRATIFIED] of the 2023 Annual General Meeting of the Avon Athletic Association, held on Wednesday April 5th 2023, by Zoom, starting at 7.00pm.

Those Present: Martin Bates, Debbie Brooks (Yate & District AC), John Deaton (General Secretary), Andrea Garcia-Lock (SGS College), Roland Gibbard, Pam Gooding (President), Ray Gooding (Officials Secretary), Steve Grant (Bristol & West AC), Bob Lavis, James Murphy (Welfare / Westbury Harriers), Hilary Nash (Treasurer / Bristol & West AC), Arthur Renshaw (Thornbury RC), John Robbins (Chairperson), Mark Thomas (Team Bath AC).

Apologies: John Cox (GWR), Kelly Dicks (GWR), Ian Macintosh (Life Member), Mike Strange (Bristol & West AC / Life Member), North Somerset AC, Jim Strudwick (Avon Schools AA)

Minutes of Previous AGM (March 14th 2022): accepted.

Matters Arising: None.

Chairperson's Remarks:

"Welcome everyone. Thank you for attending what will be my last meeting as Chairman. I will admit to being apprehensive about the future of the Association. Hopefully tonight or at least in the near future some new younger people will come forward to take on the vacant roles and ensure the Association continues to serve Athletics in the Avon area. Time is of the essence as too much is being asked of the current Secretary and Treasurer in particular. In conclusion I want to thank John Deaton, Hilary Nash and Pam and Ray Gooding for their unstinting work for the County and support to me as Chairman." [End of Statement]

Secretary's Report: (distributed in advance): Accepted.

Treasurer's Report for 2022: (distributed in advance; copies available on request):

- 1. The accounts examination for the 2021 accounts is complete and Hilary is awaiting an appointment with Maria Townsend to collect the papers and signed copies of the accounts.
- John Deaton commented that the closing Bank Balance at 31.12.2022 was £14,137 whereas the closing balances at 31.12.2011 were £22098. The meeting felt that the 2011 balances were probably higher than necessary.

Election of Officers:

President: Chairperson:	Pam Gooding No Nominations	Elected Unopposed	
Secretary:	John Deaton	Elected Unopposed	
Treasurer:	Hilary Nash	Elected Unopposed	
Officials Secretary (Track and Field)		Steve Grant (proposed Ray Gooding, seconded Pete Davenport). Accepted Unanimously	
Officials Secretary (Endurance)		Ray Gooding (proposed John Robbins, seconded Martin Bates). Accepted Unanimously.	
Cross-Country Coordinator		John Deaton	Elected Unopposed
Road Running Coordinator		Arthur Renshaw	Elected Unopposed
Track and Field Coordinator		No nomination	
			(continued)

Sportshall Coordinator		
Welfare Officer		
Webmaster		
Coaching Coordinator		

Dave Turner James Murphy John Deaton Jim Strudwick Re-elected subject to consent Elected Unopposed Elected Unopposed Re-elected subject to consent

Election of Trustees: John Robbins was elected as a Trustee until the 2026 AGM (Proposed Pam Gooding, Seconded: Ray Gooding). Elected Unanimously.

Election of Independent Examiner: No nomination. If no volunteer can be found, the meeting felt that a small financial payment could be offered.

Pam Gooding (Avon AA President) thanked John Robbins (retiring Chair) for everything he has done for the Association over the years.

Meeting Closed at about 7.35pm.