Am I Eligible For Avon?

You qualify to enter Avon Championships events and to compete for Avon (or Avon and Somerset) teams, if:

  • You were born in the County of Avon as it existed between 1974 and 1996: i.e. in the local authority areas of Bristol, Bath and North-East Somerset, South Gloucestershire or North Somerset.
  • or: Your mother was normally domiciled in Avon at the time of your birth but you were born elsewhere
    • Note: you must make a once-and-for-all choice of these two options
  • or: You have had permanent residence in the County for the past nine months (sorry, being at a boarding school in the County does not count)
  • or: You are in the Armed Services and your home base for the past nine months is in the County

You qualify to enter Avon Championships events but NOT to compete for Avon teams, if:

  • You do not qualify by birth or residence, but are resident in term-time at a school, college or University in Avon
  • (some other counties may not allow this concession)

You may still qualify for Teams or Championships, if:

  • You gained qualification by residence and competed in Championships or teams: even if you have moved out of the County, you keep this qualification until you have competed in the Championships / teams of another County

You do NOT qualify for Teams or Championships, if:

  • You belong to an Avon club without meeting any of the requirements stated above

NOTE: You may only compete in the Championships / Teams of one County in any one competition year. This, and all the other conditions above, are UKA Rules and not something thought up by the Avon AA.

Am I Eligible For Midland Counties Events?

All competitors must have either:

  • been born in the Midlands or
  • have a minimum of 9 months continuous residence in the Midlands immediately prior to the event to be competed in
  • ... (University Residency does NOT count as a Midlands qualification), or
  • have nine months'service in a unit of HM Forces based in the Area

"The Midlands" here means one of the following Counties:

  • Avon, Herefordshire, Gloucestershire, Leicestershire, Northamptonshire, Nottinghamshire, Shropshire, Staffordshire, Warwickshire, Worcestershire.

England South West (Cornwall, Devon, Dorset, Somerset, Wiltshire) & East Midlands (Derbyshire & Lincolnshire) are also recognised for qualification purposes BUT remember you can only compete in one Area Championship in the same discipline in any nine month period.